You’ll never catch me Copper!

…Oh no. So, uh, Ravanel called me out on only writing about one character when I’m calling myself the Altoholic. Fair enough, it is a bit odd to start a blog about being an altoholic while I’m settling into playing just one character. So here’s a little background on how I got to my Sith Assassin.

I started SWTOR during early access with a Jedi Knight and a Trooper. I knew I wanted to roll a Republic tank and the Knight is just too iconic to pass by while the idea of playing a non-force wielder had great appeal. I just couldn’t decide which one so I figured I’d go both. The Trooper ended up clicking more. As an aside: I’m always drawn to warrior-type characters from a thematic standpoint but can never really get into playing them. I mostly stuck with my Trooper, a Shield Spec Vanguard, while PvPing with a Sawbones Scoundrel (up to the early 20s) and constantly rolling Troopers, Knights, Consulars and Smugglers to level 10 only to delete them.

By the time I finished Act 1, at level 36, on my Vanguard I had started getting burned out with that character. I was tired of fighting mobs 5 to 10 levels lower than my character and tired of being “forced” to skip content. I focused more on trying to pick a new alt but I was burned out on low-level Republic content, I even tried to spice it up by creating a Consular that I was going to role play as a Vulcan very logical, emotion-less human.

So I tried Empire. First attempt was a Bounty Hunter: I liked the story and how it worked well being more of an independent contractor and I especially loved how it was more fire themed than my Trooper but it was too similar and made me feel like I should go back to my Trooper. So onto the Imperial Agent, with a Scoundrel already there I decided to go Sniper. By level 12 I was regretting my AC choice and not logging in anymore. So that brings us to today and my Sith Assassin.

So what about other potential alts? I have two big interests right now: Sage or Commando. I really enjoy PvPing with my little Sawbones Scoundrel but I do not like questing/leveling with him, even less since Corso lost his harpoon, so I’ve been wanting to try another healer. So why Sage and Commando rather than Sorcerer and Mercenary? First, I don’t really care for the purple lighting and prefer the aesthetic of the Sage. Secondly, Autocanon. So it’s just a matter of time before I roll up one of those two and give another healing class a try.

Maybe I’ll live up to my name an roll one of them tonight.

About Psnacky

Spurred on the the Newbie Blogger Initiative, I've decided to throw my hat in the ring and give blogging about the games I play a try. View all posts by Psnacky

One response to “You’ll never catch me Copper!

  • Ravanel

    Haha, brilliant title! xD

    Great post, it was interesting to read about all your alts. It’s funny for me, because I usually have a pretty good idea about what I like to play. For me that’s jedi sage and sentinel at the moment. I enjoy my jedi sage very much, but I would have dreaded leveling her alone in healing specs. Luckily I duo with my boyfriend. 🙂 I also found that my sage was a late bloomer: in the beginning I struggled with force power problems and the lack of an AoE healing skill. Now she got her talents unlocked, it’s lovely to play and heal with her!

    I can see how it must be getting boring to level the same areas over and over. I hope you’ll find something of your liking in the end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

